Cheap skate

You know you’re in deep when you think that $20, $30, or even $50 is a bad deal for fixer up treasures.  I have a cheap skate mindset that isn’t necessarily a bad thing but it’s funny.  I few months ago I would have no problem shelling out $50 for a dresser now, ha you’re lucky if you see me spend $20.  If I do I’ll be really hesitant to purchase.  I guess it comes with the territory of scouting out deals and only buying what you see true potential in.  The piece below is hands down my favorite yet besides my half hoosier cabinet and gossip bench.

I asked for a price and was told ….. wait for it …… $5.  Five Dollars!!  Ok this piece is gorgeous and sure it has flaws like the crack in the door but $5?  Come on.  Well I felt a bit guilty and since the lady selling it was so cute I told her I wouldn’t feel right unless I doubled her money and gave her $10.  For $10 I walked away with a gorgeous solid wood antique.  Travis came up with the idea of white on wood which I have to say I wasn’t head over heels for but the finished product is stunning.  His creative eye for design has me impressed!  And check out these amazing handles!

Now while I’ll still keep an eye out for things I truly love I just can’t seem to think that I’ll find anything much more amazing than a find like this!

About Lindsey

Living & loving life with my amazing family and friends. A passion for interior design & decorating. A collector of vintage gems. A do-er of antique furniture face-lifts. An obession with letterpress & typography. View all posts by Lindsey

Leave a Reply

