Get Your Roll On

I’m still recovering which I’m pretty much at 100 percent now, thank you Lord, I’ve been working on my to-do’s with the hubs from my post in early June which you can read about here http://wp.me/pwpqG-3s.  I’ll be sharing some of the things we’ve been doing over the last month like moving our rooms around in the house and some steals and deals I’ve found along the way but this particular post is about paint or rather the tools.

Let’s go back in time to last May when I first started on this blog venture and started dabbling in the world of furniture renewal and restoration.  I started out with the furniture deal as a trial and error type thing.  Would I love it?  Hate it?  Be bad at it?  Well as it turns out and I’m sure you can see I’ve quite enjoyed this journey so far and it’s sparked a lot of creativity back into my life that I thought was gone.  Re-doing furniture has re-ignited my artistic flame so to speak and has giving me something to work on, learn from, enjoy, and create new things, and give life to old things.  It’s given me a sense of …..worth?  I don’t know that that’s really the word I’m looking for but it makes me feel like I’ve finally found that “something” that I’ve searched so long for.  Something that I’m truly good at and something that I’m proud of.  Mind you I’m no pro at this but the experience itself has been fun and it is fun and sure I’ve had my moments where I’ve had furniture malfunctions or mental blocks but the outcome has been pretty great.  I still give myself a hard time and really want to have that “wow factor” that’s added to each piece I work on but I feel like it will happen in due time.   I’ve learned a lot along the way with different tools, stains, paints, and the list goes on.  I’ve been able to get a feel for what I like to work with and things I don’t like to work with.  This leads me to paint tools. 

I started out using a brush.

I enjoy the brush.  It gives furniture a different texture and adds depth to it.  I’ve used a brush on most of my projects so far and I’ve been very pleased and proud of the results.  Yes I admit I’ve taken the short cut and cheated by using spray paint on some of my projects but it’s just not the same.  I guess really for me spray paint seems ok but I just feel like it’s half assed to an extent.  Does it get the job done?  Yes.  Is it as durable as paint? Kind of. It really depends on the type of spray paint you use.  Do I feel like I’ve done something impressive?  No.  I feel like it’s the easy option for some projects but it’s something I choose to use sparingly because even though paint does take longer, it’s much more rewarding in the end.

This takes me to my most recent test run of the infamous roller.  I really thought going into it that it might be a good option to change things up.  I had high hopes for the roller.  Ok sure it’s another ‘easy’ route but I figured hey it’s worth a shot to see what happens.  I have to say that I wasn’t impressed.  Rolling a wall = good.  Rolling furniture = odd?  It just didn’t give me that omph I was looking for.  I guess that’s to be expected since you know, it’s a roller.  So the conclusion I’ve come to with the roller is to use sparingly?  I’m thinking mainly for priming and only for streamlined clean-cut projects and not so much for those with more intricate details and nooks.

With my lovely assortment ….

I can happily say that the brush is here to stay.  Will I use spray paint and the roller again?  Sure but like I said sparingly.  I suppose it’s all in the time that you have to take and your personal preferences too.  Maybe you need a quicker route with a spray paint.  Or maybe you like the clean look of sprays.  Maybe you love the feel of a roller.  Whatever you chose is all up to you so I recommend giving each of them a whirl.

About Lindsey

Living & loving life with my amazing family and friends. A passion for interior design & decorating. A collector of vintage gems. A do-er of antique furniture face-lifts. An obession with letterpress & typography. View all posts by Lindsey

Leave a Reply

