I Got Benched

I’ve been looking just about everyday on the internet for one project piece that I have been wanting for quite sometime.  My hunt started about 6 months ago for an old piano bench and had no luck.  I have searched Craigslist on a daily basis several times a day for one and still no luck.  Just so happens that hubs and I ended up passing a yard sale this weekend and he asked if I wanted to stop.  Well we passed and and after getting some gas we decided to go back.  Let me set this straight….I DO NOT like yard sales.  I feel like you go to them to spend money on things you don’t need at all and to accumulate useless junk you may or may not touch.  Either way it worked out.  There wasn’t much at this yard sale and as I was glancing around at the clutter that was left I almost missed it….

Out of the corner of my eye I see it….it’s a piano bench…THE piano bench.  Why do I need a piano bench you ask, well to be honest I don’t know it’s just something I decided that I needed to have.  No, we do not have a piano.    Here’s a before shot of the bench.

DSCN1129

In a matter of 15 minutes my bench was transformed.  Yup, in 15 minutes time my bench was painted, re-upholstered, put back together, and sitting in my house.  Here’s the run down:

DSCN1130

I removed the seat and got to work on spray painting the metal, which by the way was easy.  The paint went on beautifully.  I sprayed it with some left over spray paint from my Gossip Bench …. Heirloom White. 

DSCN1131

Then I took out the staple gun and got to work on the cushion.  This was a bit more testing of my patience.  For whatever reason my gun decided to continually jam but I got through it.

DSCN1132

I used some dirt cheap fabric I snatched from U-fab in the remnants room.  So since I already had it we can take on $0 for that too (actually cost was a mear $2.99/yd) HA!  Since I’m new at the whole “re-upholestering” deal.  I followed the guidelines of basic clock work … 12,3,6,9.  Repeat.  Then I just staple like crazy and fold the corners in as neatly as possible. 

All done!  So in 15 minutes, I ended up being the proud owner of my new, newer, piano bench!

DSCN1134

About Lindsey

Living & loving life with my amazing family and friends. A passion for interior design & decorating. A collector of vintage gems. A do-er of antique furniture face-lifts. An obession with letterpress & typography. View all posts by Lindsey

Leave a Reply

